Types of visas

Airport transit visas (visa "A")

This visa allows its holder to travel through the international transit zone of one or more airports of EU Member States without having to actually enter the territory of a Member State.

Uniform visas (visa "C")

A uniform visa is valid for the entire territory of EU Member States. It may be granted for one, two or more entries, provided that the period shall not exceed five years. In the case of transit, the length of permitted stay corresponds to the time needed for the purpose of transit.

Limited territorial validity visas (visa “LTV”)     

A visa with limited territorial validity is valid in the territory of the EU Member State that issued the visa. It may be exceptionally valid in the territories of several EU Member States if each of these Member States agrees.

National long-stay visas (visa "D”)

The Regulation of the European Parliament and the Council (EC) No. 265/2010 of 25 March 2010 amending the Convention Implementing the Schengen Agreement and Regulation (EC) No. 562/2006 regarding the movement of persons with long-stay visas entered into force on 5 April 2010 and introduced some changes to long-stay visas: Visas for stays of more than three months (long-term visas) are the national visas issued by one of the EU Member States in accordance with their national law or European Union law. From 5 April 2010 long-stay visas authorise their holders to move freely in the Schengen area for three months within any six-month period.

The period of validity of long-stay visas shall not be longer than one year. In the case of long-stay visas issued before 5 April 2010 for more than one year, they should be replaced by residence permits within the period up to 5 April 2011.

The right of free movement shall apply to all valid long-stay visas and therefore also to those which were issued prior to 5 April 2010, and the relevant six-month period during which the holder of such a visa may travel up to three months within the Schengen area is calculated from 5 April 2010.


Last Modify: 11. 10. 2019, 11:11